The Decision is Made

Finally, I have made the decision, a decision that, who knows, might be the most important decision of my life!

The experts have been consulted, the internet has been trawled, the lists of pros and cons have been made, friends and family and blogs have been questioned, and now the research can stop, and I must now fully commit to a course of action that everyone has pointed out is entirely my responsibility.

Time to trust the experts.

Following the advice of some, and disregarding the advice of others, I have opted for surgery. There is a complicating factor, which is the effect that the general anaesthetic might have on my MS, so I have to go see a consultant anaesthetist first.

Were it not for the pain, I would like to watch the operation, because it is performed through five tiny cuts in my abdomen, into which they put robots. The robots are controlled by the surgeon with a screen and a mouse. For him, it’s a three hour video game.

The operation should be in about six weeks. If I hear any more I’ll let you know. All other engagements for November and December are now on hold!

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Age, Death, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Decision is Made

  1. Jo Webb says:

    Good luck Steve. It probably feels better to have decided on a course of action. Thinking of you xx

    Like

  2. Dan says:

    I remember the sense of relief that I had once the decision was made. I had a robotic radical prostatectomy in January 2011 and never really second-guessed my choice, Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to hear you’ve opted for that Steve. I wish you well and hope you have an excellent outcome.

    Like

  4. Miranda Forward says:

    Thank you for letting us know – lots of people will be rooting for you. Keep in touch!

    Love x

    Like

Leave a Reply

