Another List

10 Seminal Books

Here is another, controversial list. This one is a list of ten books that have changed me in some way – change my mind or change the way I see or think about things. They are not my favourite books, or the best written or ones I would take to a desert island, but they probably represent those books that helped to form who I am now.

Your list will be different, but writing it down helps to clarify, to yourself, who you are.

  1. Essays by George Orwell
  2. The Making of the English Landscape by W G Hoskins
  3. The Way of Zen by Alan Watts
  4. The Doors of Perception by Aldous Huxley
  5. Sapiens by Yuval Harari
  6. Feral by George Mombiot
  7. The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
  8. Walden by Henry Thoreau
  9. I’m OK, You’re OK by Thomas Harris
  10. The Empty Space by Peter Brook

Plus any map by Ordnance Survey.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Arts, Books, Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another List

  1. Good list. I once did a similar one only it was on my top ten Great Britons , starting with Isambard Kingdom Brunel. I agree with you on the OS map’s.

    Like

  2. Miranda Forward says:

    Walden would be on my top ten list too, along with maps, of course. I raved about Walden when I discovered it, but was a bit disappointed when I learned that he only lived there for 2 years!

    Like

  3. Miranda Forward says:

    And Alan Watts, but I’d have4 Tao, the Watercourse Way as that was my way in

    Like

Leave a Reply

