A New List

Being a man, I am an inveterate producer of lists. Here is what I constructed on my walk this morning in drizzly rain.

 

Things I am interested in:

This list seems to get shorter as the years pass. Things that fascinated me as a young man, no longer seem to be worth the effort.

  1. Being wise before I die.
  2. Writing.
  3. Greece, ancient and modern.
  4. Dogs, for their honesty.
  5. Being in the natural world.
  6. Meditating.
  7. Music.
  8. Family history.
  9. Silence.

 

Things that worry me:

  1. Staying healthy.
  2. The state of the natural, non-human world.
  3. The extent and prevalence of human greed.
  4. Ubiquitous noise.

 

The balance still seems good to me. There are more things that interest me than things I worry about. A good exercise to do, along with books that have changed my life and the eight pieces of music I would take to a desert island!

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Age, Blogging, Greece, Health, Hobbies, Lists, Music, Nature, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

