Living in Interesting Times

I am reminded of the old Chinese curse – “May you live in interesting times.”

It was difficult to leap out of bed this morning with my normal enthusiasm (sic), what with thinking about all these jolly interesting times we’re living through. One is tempted to list them, but what would be the point in doing that?cover

And you might disagree with something on my list, and, as a result, decide to hate me or despise me, or, worse than anything in the world, decide to unfriend me!

No, we shouldn’t fall out. We might need each other.

And I don’t really know you. You might be someone who sees it as a good thing, a reason to be cheerful, that a newly-resurgent Russia and a newly protectionist USA can now divide the world between them in order to put a stop to China. Or you might be a member of another species, any of which will see it as a cause for unbridled celebration that homo sapiens could soon become extinct.

Although the world now seems as though it is run by the crazy people, it has always been so, and I’m not so stupid as to wish I was an Ice Age hunter-gatherer, or a twelfth century Chinese labourer, or a 16th Century Russian serf, or a 19th Century English slum dweller.

If you catch me getting misty-eyed about the past, any past, just sidle up to me and whisper the magic word, “anaesthetic”.

But I can’t be really positive all the time. Some days it all seems too much.

The world situation, my health, the unstoppable and accelerating rush towards death, the impersonality of the universe, the dark afternoons of winter, all come crowding in on me. And, during my morning walk with Ruby, from the church in the village came the slow tolling of the bell.

Of couse. It’s Remembrance Sunday.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living in Interesting Times

  1. Brian Toberman says:

    All’s well on planet Hebden Steve! xx

    Get Outlook for Android

    Like

Leave a Reply

