Everything Comes to He Who Waits

It has happened, at last, and I feel very proud of myself.

The cynics said I could never manage it. The professionals said it was time to accept a new base line.

But, with the help of a neurophysiotherapist, my long-suffering and tired wife, and my own pig-headedness, I have managed to walk in the woods again with just my sticks for support.

I’ve been doing it for a week now, every afternoon, wearing walking boots to give my ankles some support, and yesterday was the first time I managed to do the full circuit.

So now, the routine is . . . long ‘walk’ for Ruby in the morning, using my electric scooter. Today we went up the Kirklees Way from Tunnel End to Berry Greave, a walk that was challenging for the scooter, rough underfoot and steep gradients, but beautiful in the spring sunshine. It used a lot of battery, but it was downhill all the way to the canal, so we made it home.

Photographs will be taken . . . to act as proof . . . just as soon as I’ve located my camera. It is lurking somewhere in the house, and I can’t find it. Is this blindness or old age?

It’s probably just being a man!

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Disability, Exercise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everything Comes to He Who Waits

  1. Mark Kelly says:

    Excellent news.
    (and probably just being a man)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonnie Glidden says:

    Congratulations! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations and good luck on finding your camera!

    I’d say it’s being a man, but I lose things too. On the other hand, I always know where my husband’s things are. There’s some part of my brain devoted to the location of his stuff, but not my own, and certainly not dates and time and appointments or anything really important.

    Like

Leave a Reply

