Breaking News!!

Wow! It just suddenly happened!

The way we walk to the reserve

The way we walk to the reserve

 

I had just got back home this morning after walking with Ruby. I am now taking her to the nature reserve every day with my magic scooter. It was the most beautiful morning and it had most of the ingredients of wonder: warm sunshine, a gurgling stream, golden autumn trees, friendly passers-by, hills and green fields. A slight breeze on my face, and a happy dog. All that was missing was Elisabeth.

Anyway, I digress.

Because I felt energised by the walk, when I got home I must have been light-headed. I called Elisabeth to the top of the stairs so she could bear witness to my enthusiastic ascent from the bottom to the third step.

Bear in mind . . . I managed to conquer the first step a few days ago, but the muscle-wastage in my left leg would allow me to go no further, and I collapsed in a heap on the second step.

The North Face, in good weather

The North Face, in good weather

Now, I felt I might be able to show off and perhaps make it to the third.

I set off, with Elisabeth at the top cheering me on.

My legs kept going. It was like a long-lost path in my brain had been rediscovered, and suddenly my body could remember what to do.

My mind saw clearly what my legs had to do. It was the clarity of the sunlight on Deer Hill, that I had seen on the walk. It came with the ease of running. Or, at least, the kind of running they do in commercials!

And on and on it went. One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen. Then collapse. But I had done it. I had conquered the North Face. I had climbed a mountain.

Elisabeth hugged me. We celebrated with a high-five.

I came down on my bottom, as usual, of course, but I had proved to myself that it was possible, that I can walk again.

All I need now is patience.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Disability, Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking News!!

  1. Mir Fleur says:

    That’s a fantastic achievement, so quickly after getting up that first step :). Mir xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

