Things Are Looking Up . . . Perhaps

I am sitting at the keyboard, trying to listen in to my body, to see and fully experience what it is feeling.

Good things are happening, and they need recording just as much as the back-ache, the sciatica and all the things that seem to want to be written about.

I have my mobility scooter, which has revolutionised my life. Every day, I take Ruby to the Nature Reserve. We both love it. It brings a lightness and clarity of mind.

The physio is pleased with my progress. I can now climb one stair, before I sink to the ground like a runny trifle. Only twelve more to go. It’s not a huge achievement, but it matters.

It's difficult to get out of the wheelchair once you're in it

It’s difficult to get out of the wheelchair once you’re in it

I can put the tiniest amount of weight through my left leg, and I will put more through.

This feels a bit like a list of resolutions, and so it is. These are my raw thoughts, without any revision, or, indeed, much thought, in the conscious sense.#

By making my resolutions public, I am hoping you might encourage me, by Liking, commenting, or Sharing.

  1. I want to stand unsupported on both legs.
  2. I want to walk with two sticks rather thyan a Zimmer frame.
  3. I want to take Ruby to the woods again.
  4. I want to cook my “signature dish” for Elisabeth. It is, by the way, chilli con carne, vegetarian style.
  5. I want see the trees turn red.
  6. By the time the snow comes, I want to be walking as strongly as last winter.

My state of mind is crucial for the successful achievement of these goals. IU have done it before, and I will do it again.

Ruby and I just love it. I must get this back

Ruby and I just love it. I must get this back

Wish me luck!

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Disability, Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Things Are Looking Up . . . Perhaps

  1. stephen says:

    noble goals! i wish you success in all your endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. T nD says:

    Go for it !
    You’d be creating challenges for yourself if they hadn’t found you…
    Keep writing too….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emharman says:

    Steve, I love your positive attitude! My dog “encourages” me to get out for our walk every day – and I (almost) always enjoy it regardless of the weather; I’m thankful I have a companion who knows what’s best! Thank you for your writing – it is always thought provoking. Ellen in Pendleton Oregon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Terra says:

    This is my first visit here, and it sounds like things are looking up for you.

    Like

  5. Brian Toberman says:

    Go Steve See you next week Take care

    Sent by Outlook for Android

    Like

  6. Miranda says:

    Very glad to hear things are looking more hopeful – good luck and be kind to yourself x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Esme Gedge says:

    Dear Steve

    I loved your positive blog. I know you love snow. No doubt you’ll get some to walk in this coming winter! Esme

    Like

Leave a Reply

