A Weighty Matter

Today I am fasting.

I’m attempting the 5-2 diet, which involves fasting for two days a week and eating whatever I like for the rest of the week.

Those of you who know me in the flesh, as it were, will say, “But, Steve, why are you on a diet? You’re so svelte!” In fact, the other day, a woman walking her dog described me as “skinny”.

However, there is just a tiny belly obstructing the view of my feet, and the occasional pound is accumulating in my body. I’m not quite sure where exactly it’s going, but it’s going somewhere, and, wherever that somewhere is, every couple of pounds is another bag of sugar I have to carry around with me all day.

Chocolate packing tray - resist at all costs

Chocolate packing tray – resist at all costs

So I have decided to do something abpout it before it gets too big a task, and if I tell all of you it will be more difficult to back out.

This fasting diet appeals to me for this reason. I find the joyless grind and puritanical masochism of most diets impossible to follow, day after joyless day. At least with this diet, although the two fasting days are hard, I am always able to say to myself that tomorrow I can eat what I like.

In practise, however, I find that the fasting day seems to be getting my body used to having less food, and I don’t actually feel like all that chocolate and cake. I end up eating moderately, and it is making me feel good.

In the first week I lost two pounds, and it wasn’t really a problem. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Weighty Matter

  1. jan jones says:

    Best wishes with the 5:2 Steve I found it great and felt great too when I did it…have so fallen off the wagon since!…maybe I ll be inspired. ..

    Like

Leave a Reply

