Tripping the Likes Fantastic

How can you not be amazed, even as a blind man, by the majesty of light and shape? . . .

How can you not be amazed, even as a blind man, by the majesty of light and shape?

When I started this blog last summer, I was not sure what I was going to write about nor why I was doing it at all. I have wiggled my toes in various forms of social media, and haven’t found the experiences to be what I was looking for. Facebook is a good way to contact people, but I don’t use it for anything else. I prefer e-mail, or that retro thing called a telephone.

The technology is changing so quickly now that I’m not sure who is leading the creativity.

Before the telephone existed there was a need for humans to communicate over a long distance. This was the need behind the printing press, the letter, and the telegraph. The need had been in existence for thousands of years. It’s the reason behind the invention of the Marathon (race, not chocolate bar).

First, the need is identified then the invention is made to partially or wholly solve that need.

But I don’t remember anyone saying to me that they needed to receive messages from work while they are asleep, or in the bathroom, or, for that matter, on the train.

The light in the wood? . . .

The light in the wood?

The word Holiday actually meant a holy day, a time when the worries and petty problems of work were left behind, a day or days when something special happened.

Now the technology identifies the need before we do, and then tells us about this aching void in our lives, that, would you believe, only the Samsung Google Apple Ap will fill.

So why was I writing a blog? I would just become another load of crap to clog up people’s In-boxes.

Before I started the blog I read books about blogging. This is what I do – go and read about it.

All the books assume you want to “go viral”. The success of a blog is measured in numbers of readers and the success of a post is measured in numbers of clicks on the Like icon.

Writing and publishing has always been a bit like this, with success measured in sales figures, but I’m really not sure why I want hundreds of readers in India, or why I want to break into the Chilean audience.

or the beauty of form?

or the beauty of form?

We are besotted with targets.

To achieve these figures, bloggers are strongly recommended to write about one or two things only, to develop a brand. But I just want to write and share my views and my world. Sometimes my views are contradictory – I dismiss this problem with a Whitmanesque disdain. Sometimes my world is beautiful, and sometimes it is ugly. Both worlds will be here, because that’s how it is.

I don’t want to write about one thing. My life is richer than that. I don’t want to be positive or negative, I shall be both. I don’t want to uplift and I don’t want to depress. I shall do both.

Real life is complex and amazing. I am amazed when I look out of my window and see billions of atoms, all put together in amazing shapes. That’s good enough for me.

I’m trying to resist the “stats” temptation to write posts that get lots of clicks on the Like button. I’m going to carry on carrying on, and I really appreciate the fact that you’re coming along for the ride.

 

 

 

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Nature, Technology, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tripping the Likes Fantastic

  1. june cooper says:

    Hi steve, love the above, very interesting and provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Esme Gedge says:

    I really liked the photo’s particularly. You keep doing your own thing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

