A Mad Project for a Blind Man

Every year I set myself a challenge. I have a project.

When you are disabled later in life it is very easy to think your life is over. This need not necessarily be a morbid thought. It might be simply a tired recognition that your Olympic days are over, that you have climbed the mountains that you are going to climb. It can be a relief to drop all that striving, all that competition.

In my case, however, I still feel the need or desire to grow. I’ve backed off from the rat race, which I was never going to win anyway, and I’ve settled down to learning about who I am, why I’m here, and how do I live a good life.

Part of my answer is to fulfil my destiny as a biological organism and keep growing.

Each year, therefore, I try to convert the sun’s energy into a new skill. I try to push the boundaries of my blindness.IMG_2652

This is how I’ve written books, learned to use the computer with a screen reader, huge screen and high-vis keyboard.

And this year I am at last fulfilling a childhood dream and am building a model railway. Which is, of course, absolutely stupid for a blind man to do.IMG_2651

All the more reason to do it!

These photographs show where I’m up to. You need a sighted person to fix the track down, but most of the rest can be achieved with liberal quantities of glue, an understanding spouse, a camera, ebay and a local model shop. Even making my own trees has proved possible.

I will build for a year, then see how I feel about it. In the end, if I’m stubborn enough, the universe will just give up and let me do what I want.IMG_2655

 

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Disability, Hobbies, Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mad Project for a Blind Man

  1. larryzb says:

    Great post. Even with suffering and handicaps, individuals can still contribute something beautiful and meaningful to the world. Take care.

    Like

  2. Best of enjoyment! (Reads odd but didn’t want to write “luck”) I’m not sure how I stumbled onto your blog (might have been a suggestion from WordPress) but am writing down your title and going to read back posts when I have more time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

