The World at my Feet

Look what I’ve found right outside our house! Yes, I know it’s only a drain cover, but I didn’t know it was there. Well, that’s not entirely true. I knew we had a drain cover, but not this beautiful thing!

Rather like most people, when I’m walking I’m looking ahead. Even with the limited sight I have.

Obviously, I’m not looking at the view, but I am concentrating on the next step, and scanning it for traps for the unwary. You will probably be doing the same thing, just further ahead.

If it seems solid and relatively flat, I move on. The world is full of too many hazards to waste valuable time on safe ground.

The result is, I missed seeing this drain cover. Today it said “Look at me. Get down on your knees, you fool, and look at me close up, and touch me, and have a bit of a think about me. Don’t take your world for granted.”

I did as I was told.

Drain cover after rain

Drain cover after rain

And I started to really look. See that biscuit-brown of the rust, the beautiful matt-black oil stain, the pattern of stippling, and the faint mist of drying rain – it took my breath away with surprise.

It’s got me interested, so now I’m going to spend some time looking at drains. Not the most hygienic of subjects, but somebody’s got to do it . . .

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Photographs, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

