Poor Design Award 2015

Whoever, or whatever, designed us must have been working on a Friday, because his, hers or its mind was obviously on the weekend.

I’ve rather lost faith in God, or Evolution. To quote the lyrics of Spirit, “O, O something went wrong – you’re much too fat and a little too long.” The older I get, the more aware I become of the design flaws.

I’m not talking here of damage caused by trauma or disease, nor of problems caused by ourselves and our lifestyles. There are, also, major difficulties caused by built-in obsolescence, but I’m ignoring those as well. I’m talking about fundamental things that would normally result in us taking ourselves back to the manufacturer.

Let’s start with the spine, because, at this very moment, I have a chronic lower back pain. Backache is unique to humans because we walk upright. Our spines are not really constructed to cope with the stresses this posture creates. The simple design solution would be to lengthen our arms, so that we had a choice, as chimpanzees do. And there are added advantages to having longer arms.

The reproductive systems are atrociously designed. Why put testicles on the outside? The inside of the body is a constant temperature, so why not put them in there, where they will be protected and cosy? It would look better, too!

And why should menstruation hurt? What possible purpose does that serve? We should be designed like marsupials, so our babies could slither out, nice and small, and then climb into a little bag to finish off their gestation.

An eye in the back of the head would be an improvement, and would have great survival advantages, as well as making parenting a lot easier. Why do we only have two eyes and two ears when, quite obviously, more than two would be an improvement?

If we’re going to start playing God with genetics, these are the things that need sorting out first. And don’t get me started on the brain . . .

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Disability, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poor Design Award 2015

  1. Hi Tina,
    Thanks for taking the trouble to post a comment. I had had MS for many years before it was actually diagnosed. Because it’s a disease of the nervous system, disease damage can be exhibited anywhere and in lots of different ways, and then can disappear for years. With each attack, or relapse, the damage becomes more permanent and easier to diagnose. Also, it cannot be called multiple until there have been multiple relapses in more than one area of the body. My MS was misdiagnosed for years as a bug, a virus, tiredness, too much exercise and stress. Eventually it became obvious that somethuing was seriously wrong, but, even then, I had to push for a diagnosis, because neurologists are reluctant to diagnose a disease they can do nothing much to alleviate. I was angry about this at first, but, with hindsight, it enabled me to live and do things without all the anxiety and unnecessary fear that goes with the news.
    I like your blog. Philosophyis important, because the crucial thing is to think about thinking.. Keep going, read Marcus Aurelius and be happy, Steve

    Like

    • I’m afraid I’m older than you must think. It was an MRI that finally diagnosed me, but before that MRIs didn’t exist. Yes, I really am that old! Anyway, before then I accepted the diagnoses I’d been given. There was no reason not to. It turned out for the best, because I did things I wouldn’t have done if I had been worried about my health. I would have been a poorer person for it. I might never have discovered Stoicism, for example. And I might never have become happy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Telling people they have a serious disease is a difficult judgment to make. Some people don’t want to know, some do. I like to know what it is that I am fighting against, but some people get physically worse when they are told, possibly because they feel powerless to influence it. In these cases depression is a real killer.

        I think stoicism would have eluded me because my response to diagnosis would have been different when I was younger. It would have stopped me doing all sorts of things, and I think I would have been less interested in philosophy and more interested in the magical pharmocological bullet. A friend of mine killed herself taking internet drugs in a frantic attempt to find a cure for her MS. Because I was ready to hear the eventual diagnosis, I was ready to accept the condition and work with it as part of me, rather than get angry and frustrated in a hopeless war against an invader.

        This explanation is a bit vague. Sorry. hope it’s a bit clearer than it was, though.

        I really hope your balance gets sorted out.

        Steve

        Like

      • I hope you get good news about your health. I shall be thinking of you.

        It occurs to me that you might not want your health discussed on the world wide web, so I shall delete your posts.

        It’s no-one else’s business, is it?

        Steve

        Like

      • I appreciate the concern, but I don’t mind. I’ve posted things about health on my blog, so no need to worry about it. Thanks though!

        I wish you well!

        Like

Leave a Reply

