The Casual Comedy

The end of December, and I can report on the progress I have made, or not made, with my projects for 2014.

The one I wrote about here, back in the summer, which was the re-writing of Joining the Dots, and its re-formatting for publication as an e-book, hasn’t really been a success. The re-write got done, but the Kindle formatting proved to be my nemesis. It was not impossible, and it will be attempted at another time with a new book, but it ran up against my laziness and lack of interest about things I have already published.

I am essentially a lazy person. I love writing, but formatting for Kindle counts as work, and I need an outside spur to do that. I don’t have much persistence when it comes to admin and marketing and that sort of thing. I’m not proud of this, but it is a fact about me I had to come to accept long, long ago.

So, the Joining the Dots project has been indefinitely shelved – a good metaphor for forgetting a book. It sold disastrously, anyway. If you want a free copy of the paperback, just drop me a message with your postal address and one will arrive at your door as soon as I can get to a post office.

The second project, however has been a success. This was the writing of a new book, which I started on 1 January and I finished the second draft last week. Tomorrow, I’ll start the final revision, recognising that it might not be the final final draft.

Memento Mori

Memento Mori

It is called The Casual Comedy, which is a phrase used by W B Yeats to describe life. This photo of a strange decoration in my mother-in-law’s house is the cover image. At least, it is at the moment.

The book is about 300 pages long, in 12 chapters. Basically, it’s my autobiography, but my life story is intertwined with discussions about time, history and the nature of the universe. Pretentious, or what? Hopefully, what!

My soul is laid bare, and so is the beauty of the cosmos.

Parallel to these strands, are the actual events of 2014, so that the development of this particular year comes to follow the development of my life. It is all wheels within wheels, time within time, history within history. Life is just a lot of concentric circles.

The project for 2015 is publication, followed by the international book signing tour and the negotiation of the film rights. Details of the journey to international acclaim will appear from time to time on this blog, when my excitement bubbles over into inappropriate self-publicising and narcissism.

Thanks in advance for your forbearance. Normal blogs will be resumed tomorrow.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Books, Death, History, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

