It’s All Just a Wiggle

When I look at the world, I see trees and people and buildings and dogs and a million other things. These things are all one thing, and they are all part of the same big wiggle, the same cosmic dance of energy.

However, it doesn’t seem like that to me most of the time. Each object, or organism, remains stubbornly separate.

It’s like the story of the blind men who were asked to describe an elephant. The man who felt the trunk described it as a kind of snake; the one who felt the tusk described it like a crab; the one who felt its legs described it like a tree, and so on. None of them could see the whole thing, so they built their realities on a partial truth, just like we do.

All of us are blind, in that we only “see” part of the whole picture. We are all disconnected selves trying to make sense of what we are each aware of.

All that exists is now. And now. Everything that is happening now is happening at the same time. What appear to be separate events are, in actuality, all parts of the same huge event, known as the universe, or Ultimate Reality, or Big Mind, or God, or whatever you want to call it.

When I see my dog’s head pass in front of my eyes, I know it will be followed, a short time after, by a tail. They are not two different events, just because they happen at different times. Neither does her head cause her tail. Neither is her head pulling her tail along. It is all one thing, one event.

Similarly, when I walk my legs, I swing my arms. The two events look different, but they aren’t. When the world grows a tree, it will sometimes grow a bird. The tree and the bird look different, and the magic trick of our language says they are different and separate, but actually, in the Now, they are just parts of the world growing.

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Nature, Philosophy, Science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

