M S Advice #10

And finally, keep planning. There are two kinds of planning you need to do.

You need to think about the possible progression of your M S, and then envisage ways of coping, or managing, or living with these progressions. Don’t leave things till they become emergencies. If you end up being rushed into hospital, or put in a Home, you forfeit your control

Think about stair-lifts, downstairs bathrooms, access to the house and garden. At least think about them, before you have to. The same is true of Homes, if you think you might need one in the medium future. Find out what the Homes are really like, by doing some voluntary work in them.

Use a manual wheelchair occasionally so you don’t feel a freak when you’re in one. Plan ahead. Make your practical life as future-proof as you can. If you have to, move house – it will be even harder to do this later.

The second type of planning you need to do, is planning your emotional life, now. Plan to do things, use public transport (which forces you to plan). Plan your days, and plan your movements, like a rock climber. It is that split moment of inattention that results in the fall and the accident.

Above all, know yourself. Know when you are tired, and know when you’re having a good day. Learn how your body spends its allocation of energy. If I had to reduce all these posts to only one piece of advice, it would be to think of yourself as an athlete, which, in a sense, you are, and treat yourself accordingly. Sleep well, eat healthy food, train every day and keep fit.

It is still possible to win the race.

 

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to M S Advice #10

  1. Brian Toberman says:

    Sound advice for us all Steve x

    Date: Tue, 21 Oct 2014 09:52:54 +0000 To: briantoberman@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. katy says:

    Because your final comment has reminded of a poem I have written as part of my planned ou degree in English Literature [an over all plan to be more viable as secondary progressive ms makes me more static] it is as follows:
    Getting Away
    The only chance of getting away is sleep and dreams.
    I run as a fleet, bounding Hare. In my vision,
    Leaping over hillocks or hovering round beams of light,
    Run boxingly, lithe, in my aim to win.
    A hare that must rest,
    Waking I blink my long luxurious lashes of Lepus europaeus,
    Stretch limbs that turn wrinkly, stringy and fibrous like sisal.
    To become a slow determined Tortoise of Aesop’s fable.
    My daytime fancy, I wish I be so idle. Lose the race.

    But the only reprisal,
    Is that wakeful, I will slowly get the winning place.

    Good ideas from you,
    thank-you,
    Regards,
    Katy

    Like

  3. Mirands says:

    Thanks, Steve. Planning is vital. It’s only by planning meticulously that there’s any chance of spontaneity! That sound like a contradiction but isn’t really.
    What I find a real challenge is keeping calm about the planning – otherwise it gets rather manic – have I forgotten anything? Will I stick to the plan? Have I done everything I need to do? Bla bla bla.

    Like

Leave a Reply

