MS Advice #7

Keep growing. By this, I mean, pay attention to that part of you that people call “spiritual”. In many ways, you are peculiarly suited to do this, because your M S has probably reminded you of your mortality, and has therefore reminded you that there is more to feeling fulfilled than shopping and television.

This post carries with it the danger that I’ll sound all evangelical and up myself, but it’s only my thoughts, and you can weave your own web of thoughts around this subject. All I’m really advising, is pay some attention to this area of your life, because all the great thinkers of the past, from Plato and Buddha, to Einsteinn and Jesus, say the same thing, that “the unexamined life is not worth living”.

I don’t mean you have to get religion. If you have one already, that’s good, but now is the time to practise it fully and deeply. Yes, I know you do already, but others might not. If you don’t have a religion, that’s good, too, but religions are philosophical and psychological systems that have studied this spiritual stuff for thousands of years, and so they are all worth looking at.

Remember you are not just your body, which, anyway, is having problems at the moment (so take care of it!). Spend time every day in prayer or meditation. These are ways of becoming familiar with your mind and spirit. Keep your holy days holy, not just another excuse to shop. Ramadan and Lent and the five-two diet remind us that it is good to fast. It is important to know the difference between I need and I want, between rights and desires.

There, I’ve said it. Now, where are those chocolates . . . ?

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MS Advice #7

  1. Esme says:

    I gave up Television for Lent this year and felt much healthier for it! In fact I’m seriously thinking of giving up television for the whole of the rest of the autumn!

    But not Downton Abbey!!……

    Like

Leave a Reply

