Still Mist

September has changed again. Together with April, it’s the month of change from one season to the next. The problem is knowing what to wear when I take Ruby to the woods.

Black autumn

Black autumn

Yesterday, for example, I was in a t-shirt, but today it is full waterproofs and a snorkel. It’s not actually raining; it’s low cloud and mist that soaks the bracken and blackens the fallen leaves, so they are like prehistoric bodies in a peat grave.

Mist across Clough Lea

Mist across Clough Lea

Across the valley, the hills are grey and indistinct, like distant battleships, anchored. The air is still. All is waiting, as if for something momentous. It’s so still that the cloud must build up from the earth to beyond the sky. You can feel the weight of all that water.

The smells don’t move in this wet stillness. Ruby’s nose is wet and earthy with undergrowth, roots, and last night’s animal smells.

Occasionally, when I push past a tree, a spatter of water prickles cold on my

Death of a leaf

Death of a leaf

head and down my neck. The two of us love it. I throw leaves at her, and she digs and barks.

The winter – bring it on!

 

 

About stevehobsonauthor

I am blind, and I hate it. It stinks. But life is still sweet. I have multiple sclerosis, and that stinks too, but life is still sweet. These are my musings.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Mist

  1. dianegreen2014 says:

    Hi, would you like to invite Alison Dixon, as cc’d, to your blog Steve? I have told her about your lovely blog as she also has MS, works in libraries and I thought she would like it

    Cheers

    Diane

    Like

  2. Esme says:

    Lovely pictures Steve, but I don’t share your “winter bring it on” sentiment. I know I shall suffer badly from SAD when the clocks go back! Esme

    Like

Leave a Reply

